Friday, August 25, 2006

Pluto Demoted

The votation made by the delegates of the International Astronomical Union in Prague did not bode well for Pluto - the controversial body demoted from its planet status to a "dwarf planet." The new designation leaves the solar system with eight planets and four dwarf planets: Pluto, Ceres, previously designated an asteroid, Charon (previously Pluto's moon) and 2003 UB313, also known as Xena. The three will also be known as trans-Neptunian objects.

No comments: